專題演講

6月23-27日

2024

專題演講一:東尼.桑特博士(Dr Toni Sant)

表演藝術紀錄的跨文化視角

當思考記錄過程作為一種實踐的脈絡下,記錄並非關於文件的內容或客觀的質素,而是關於該文件的製作、保存和可被重複使用的潛力。從記錄作為證明的「名詞」,到創建和收集文獻行為的「動詞」。

在過去十年間,因為記憶研究領域的興起,和數碼策展作為保存與維繫數碼資產正規化以方便長期存取,令有關記錄表演的跨文化研究及討論持續發生。

經過過去二三十年快速而廣泛的全球化,不同的文化領域已出現多方面的交匯和差異。 現在是時候從歷史、社會、政治、倫理結構去探討跨越文化的表演藝術紀錄。

東尼.桑特博士

東尼.桑特博士現為英國索爾福德大學位於MediaCityUK的數碼策展實驗室總監。 2014 年至 2020 年間,他擔任馬耳他國家創意中心(Spazju Kreattiv)的藝術總監。 從他的著作《富蘭克林熔爐與前衛精神:未來的歷史》(“Franklin Furnace & the Spirit of the Avant Garde: A History of the Future”, 2011) 開始,東尼撰寫了大量有關數碼策展和媒體考古學的文章。最近的出版包括《記錄表演:數碼策展和存檔的脈絡和過程》(“Documenting Performance: The Context and Processes of Digital Curation and Archiving”, 2017)、《Spazju Kreattiv 藝術收藏》(“The Spazju Kreattiv Art Collection”. 2020)。因新冠肺炎疫情而首度封城期間,他與歐盟文學獎得獎作家Immanuel Mifsud 合著《Jien-Noti-Jien》(2020),作品於2021年獲獎。他同時擔任由Routledge出版的《國際表演藝術與數碼媒體期刊》(“International Journal of Performance Arts and Digital Media”)副編輯。

專題演講二:岡室美奈子博士(Prof. Dr Minako OKAMURO)

演劇博物館在疫情及後疫情時代面臨的挑戰:日本戲劇的數碼檔案管理與活化實踐

2020年,世界因新冠肺炎經歷了巨大的轉變。日本政府於4月7日宣布東京都等七個都縣道府進入緊急狀態。這次疫情對日本演藝界造成嚴重影響,導致許多演出取消或延期。作為專注於表演藝術的演劇博物館的工作人員,這場危機促使我們演劇博物館的表演藝術專家,重新思考對應著未來世代的收集和保存策略。

至2023年3月,我擔任早稻田大學坪內博士紀念演劇博物館館長已達十年。這博物館成立於1928 年,正準備在2028年慶祝建立100周年。作為日本最古老的大學博物館之一,坪內博士紀念演劇博物館擁有涵蓋世界戲劇史的豐富藏品。

在疫情期間,我們開始收集被取消或延期的舞台表演的傳單、海報、劇本和證明,目的是確保即使演出被取消,排練和籌備工作也不會被忘記;實際上,戲劇史不應存在任何空白。我們的努力透過2020年的線上展覽《失去的演出:戲劇記錄/新冠災難的記憶》(Lost Performances: Theatrical Records/Memories of the Corona Disaster/失われた公演――コロナ禍と演劇の記録/記憶)中達至高峰,隨後又在2021年舉辦了另一場名為《疫裡失迷:漂泊的劇場,表達的新視野》(Lost in Pandemic: Theatre Adrift, Expression’s New Horizons/Lost in Pandemic――失われた演劇と新たな表現の地平)展覽。

疫情期間,演劇博物館還推出了日本數碼戲劇檔案館,這是文化部為提高戲劇行業的盈利能力的其中一個項目。該檔案網站為公眾提供舞台表演的影片訊息,確保劇院即使在因疫情關閉,也能繼續參與表演。

在是次專題演講中,我將重點放在我們在疫情及後疫情所採取的多項措施,展示演劇博物館的各種檔案,並反思檔案管理對未來的意義。

岡室美奈子博士

岡室美奈子博士是早稻田大學文學學術院教授。她在愛爾蘭國立都柏林大學 (UCD) 獲得藝術博士學位。2013年至2023年期間,她擔任坪內紀念演劇博物館館長,並因此而廣為人所認識。

在擔任演劇博物館館長期間,她策劃了一系列創新且備受好評的展覽,包括《塞繆爾.貝克特:不察覺地半掩的門》(“Samuel Beckett: The Door is Imperceptibly Ajar”)、《啊,新宿:城市奇觀》(“Ah, Shinjuku: The City as Spectacle”)、《內/外:視覺文化和LGBTQ+》(“Inside/Out: Visual Culture and LGBTQ+”)和《疫裡失迷:漂泊的劇場,表達的新視野》(“Lost in Pandemic: Theatre Adrift, Expression’s New Horizon”)等。

岡室教授在日本演劇學會、日本數碼檔案學會和日本廣播節目中心等多個委員會中擔任重要職務。她也是文化事務委員會的成員。

她的專業領域包括當代戲劇和電視研究。她因著對塞繆爾·貝克特的研究而受到特別的認可,並且是日本貝克特研究學會的創始成員之一。

她合編了多部書籍,包括《1960年代演劇再考》(2012)、《舞台上的愛爾蘭:貝克特及其後》(“Ireland on Stage: Beckett and After”, 2012)和《塞繆爾.貝克特今天/今天19:無國界的貝克特》(“Samuel Beckett Today/Aujourd’hui 19: Borderless Beckett/Beckett sans frontiers, 2009)。

除了學術貢獻外,她還把多種貝克特的劇本翻譯為日語,其中著名的譯本包括《等待果陀》和《終局》。

專題演講三:雅舒托.普德博士(Dr Ashutosh Potdar)

文字、空間與檔案的實踐

雅舒托.普德博士是編劇亦是學者,他透過文字和空間反思在構想和創作故事上檔案可如何介入。普德博士專注於印度的戲劇實踐,擬探討不同藝術進路和戲劇構成,與及劇場再現的方式,怎樣在當代語境下,讓檔案得以參與的同時,能把現實進行歷史化的處理。演講將探討戲劇寫作的方法學,也將討論在不斷變化的身分、語言、流動性、協作以及本地和全球動態的背景下戲劇構作的介入。

雅舒托.普德博士

雅舒托.普德博士是浦那FLAME大學戲劇與表演研究系(設計、藝術與表演學院)的文學與戲劇副教授。

普德博士使用英語和馬拉提語進行學術研究,探索了殖民戲劇、敘事理論和戲劇研究.他最近的探索,是有關檔案和表演製作的聯繫,如何結合研究與創意實踐。他在多種期刊上以英語和馬拉提語發表了文學和戲劇方面的研究成果,並在其國內和國際會議上發表了論文。他編輯了《有史以來最偉大的馬拉提語故事》。此外,他還合編了一本關於表演製作和檔案的論文集,以及分別由印度Routledge和沙迦藝術基金會出版的馬拉提語藝術寫作選集。

普德博士是一位屢獲殊榮的作家,創作了多部獨幕劇和長篇戲劇、詩歌、短篇小說和翻譯作品。他有兩本戲劇集、一本詩集和一部戲劇改編作品。普特博士還在浦那一間畫廊舉辦的一場策劃展覽中展示了他的作品,並與班加羅爾的一位演員和設計師共同創作了一場表演,該表演在柏林的Sophiensaele首演。由他編輯的創意表達雙語期刊हाकारा । hākārā,文章皆經過同行評審,以馬拉提語和英語在網上出版。

專題演講四:榮念曾先生

(藝術)紀錄作為(藝術)評論的生命與時代

榮念曾是華人實驗藝術先駒,跨媒體、跨文化、跨界別藝術倡導者,香港及鄰近地區最有影響力藝術家之一。榮念曾自七十年代開展跨媒體藝術創作,包括電影、漫畫、裝置、錄像、舞台與概念藝術,並於1982年共同成立藝術團體「進念‧二十面體」,自1985年開始出任藝術總監至今。過去四十年,榮在超過一百齣多媒體舞台製作中擔任導演、編劇和舞台設計。他編導的作品,曾獲邀至世界各地演出,2022年及2015年分別獲香港藝術發展獎 – 傑出藝術貢獻獎及香港藝術發展獎—藝術家年獎(戲劇界別)。2014年,榮獲福岡亞洲文化獎 — 藝術文化獎。2009年,榮獲德國聯邦十字絲帶勳章,表揚其推動香港德國兩地交流的成就。2008年憑《荒山淚》獲聯合國教科文組織國際戲劇協會授予Music Theatre NOW大獎。2021年,「實驗實驗展:榮念曾創作50年」展覽在香港文化博物館舉行;「進念實驗劇場文獻庫」於近年成立,是公開的網上文獻庫,完整呈現藝團四十年來的實驗藝術,包括演出影片及照片、創作手稿、演出評論、印刷品等。

Keynote Lectures

23-27 JUNE

2024

Keynote Lecture 1 - Dr Toni Sant​

Intercultural Perspectives on Documenting Performance

In the context of considering processes of documenting as a practice, documentation is not about the contents or objective qualities of a document but the making, preservation and potential reuse of that document. From a noun associated with documentary evidence to a verb describing the act of creating and collecting documents.

In the past decade or so, research and discussions on the interdisciplinary aspects of documenting performances have taken place due to the recently-created field of memory studies and the development of digital curation as a formal process of preservation and maintenance in archiving digital assets for long-term access.

After rapid and extensive globalisation in the past two or three decades, cultures now intersect and differ in multi-faceted ways. The time is right to investigate intercultural approaches to documenting performance arts in terms of the historical, social, political, ethical constructs.

Dr Toni Sant

Dr Toni Sant is Director of the Digital Curation Lab at MediaCityUK with the University of Salford. Between 2014 and 2020 he was the Artistic Director of Spazju Kreattiv, Malta’s National Centre for Creativity. Toni has written widely about digital curation and media archaeology, starting with his book “Franklin Furnace & the Spirit of the Avant Garde: A History of the Future” (Intellect, 2011). Other recent books include ”Documenting Performance: The Context and Processes of Digital Curation and Archiving” (Bloomsbury, 2017) and “The Spazju Kreattiv Art Collection” (Fondazzjoni Kreattività, 2020). In 2021 he was awarded the National Book Prize of Malta for literary non-fiction for a book of Facebook posts called “Jien-Noti-Jien” (Klabb Kotba Maltin, 2020), which he co-authored with EU Literature Prize winner Immanuel Mifsud during the first Covid-19 pandemic lockdown. He is also an Associate Editor of the International Journal of Performance Arts and Digital Media, published by Routledge.

Keynote Lecture 2 - Prof. Dr Minako OKAMURO

The Challenges of the Theatre Museum Amidst and Beyond the Pandemic: Digital Archiving and Revitalization Practices of Japanese Theatre

In 2020, the world underwent a dramatic transformation due to the COVID-19 pandemic. On April 7, the Japanese government declared a state of emergency in seven prefectures, including Tokyo. This pandemic severely impacted the Japanese performing arts sector, leading to numerous stage performance cancellations or postponements. However, this crisis prompted our theatre museum, which specializes in the performing arts, to reconsider what we ought to collect and preserve for future generations.

The Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum at Waseda University, where I served as director for ten years until March 2023, was founded in 1928 and is preparing to celebrate its centennial in 2028. As one of Japan’s oldest university museums, it boasts an extensive collection encompassing the entire spectrum of world theatre history.

During the pandemic, we began collecting flyers, posters, scripts, and testimonials from individuals involved in stage performances that had been cancelled or postponed. Our aim was to ensure that even if a performance was cancelled, the rehearsals and preparations would not be forgotten; in essence, no gaps would exist in the history of theatre. This effort culminated in the 2020 online exhibition “Lost Performances: Theatrical Records/Memories of the Corona Disaster,” which was followed by another exhibition in 2021 titled “Lost in Pandemic: Theatre Adrift, Expression’s New Horizons.”

During the pandemic, the Theatre Museum also launched the Japan Digital Theatre Archives as part of a project by the Agency for Cultural Affairs, aimed at enhancing the profitability of the theatre industry. This archive site offers public access to information on the videos of past stage performances, ensuring continued engagement with the performing arts even when theatres are closed due to the pandemic.

In this lecture, I will focus on our initiatives during and after the pandemic. I will present various archives from the Theatre Museum and reflect on the significance of archiving for the future.

Prof. Dr Minako OKAMURO

Minako Okamuro is a professor at the Faculty of Letters, Arts, and Sciences at Waseda University. She received her Ph.D. in Arts from the National University of Ireland, Dublin (UCD). She is well-known for her tenure from 2013 to 2023 as the director of the Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum.

During her time as the director of the Theatre Museum, she curated a range of innovative and highly praised exhibitions. These included “Samuel Beckett: The Door is Imperceptibly Ajar,” “Ah, Shinjuku: The City as Spectacle,” “Inside/Out: Visual Culture and LGBTQ+,” and “Lost in Pandemic: Theatre Adrift, Expression’s New Horizons,” all of which attracted considerable attention.

Professor Okamuro holds esteemed positions on various boards, including the Japan Society for Theatre Research, the Japan Society for Digital Archive, and the Broadcasting Program Centre of Japan. She is also a member of the Council for Cultural Affairs.

Her area of expertise encompasses contemporary theatre and television studies. She is especially acknowledged for her research on Samuel Beckett, and is one of the founding members of the Beckett Circle of Japan.

She has co-edited several books, including “Rethinking of Japanese Theatre in 1960s” (Tokyo: Suiseisya, 2012), “Ireland on Stage: Beckett and After” (Dublin: Carysfort Press, 2012), and “Samuel Beckett Today/Aujourd’hui 19: Borderless Beckett/Beckett sans frontiers” (Amsterdam: Rodopi, 2009).

In addition to her scholarly contributions, she has translated many of Beckett’s plays into Japanese, with notable translations such as “Waiting for Godot” and “Endgame”.

Keynote Lecture 3 - Dr Ashutosh Potdar

Words, Space and Enacting the Archive

As a playwright and scholar, Dr Ashutosh Potdar would reflect on the enactment of the archive in ideation and composition of a story through words and space. Focusing on dramatic practices in India, Dr Potdar will discuss the different artistic ways and techniques of dramatic compositions and theatrical representations in archival engagement and historicizing of a reality within the contemporary context. Investigating the methodologies of writing for theatre, the talk will also address dramaturgical mediations in the context of evolving identities, languages, mobilities, collaborations and the dynamics of the local and the global.

Dr Ashutosh Potdar

Dr Ashutosh Potdar is Associate Professor of literature and drama at the Department of Theatre and Performance Studies (School of Design, Art and Performance), FLAME University, Pune.

Dr Potdar’s scholarly work in English and Marathi has explored Colonial Drama, Narrative Theory and Drama Studies and more recently, the connections between the archive and performance making combining research and creative practice. He has published his research work on literature and drama in English and Marathi in various journals and presented papers in national and international conferences. He has edited a volume of “Greatest Marathi Stories Ever Told (Aleph Book Company)”. Also, he has co-edited a volume of essays on performance-making and the archive, and an anthology of art writing in Marathi published by Routledge India and Sharjah Art Foundation respectively.

Dr Potdar is an award-winning writer of several one-act and full-length plays, poems, short fiction and translations. He has two collections of plays, a collection of poetry and an adaptation of a play to his credit. Dr Potdar has also presented his work in a curated show at a gallery in Pune and co-written a performance with an actor and designer in Bangalore that premiered at Sophiensaele in Berlin. He edits हाकारा । hākārā, a peer-reviewed bilingual journal of creative expression published online in Marathi and English.

Keynote Lecture 4 - Mr Danny Yung

Life and Times of (Arts) Documentation As (Arts) Criticism

Mr Danny Yung

An experimental art pioneer, Danny Yung is a founding member cum Co-Artistic Director of Zuni Icosahedron. Yung is widely regarded as most influential artist in Hong Kong and the neighbouring regions, and an advocate in experimental arts and new art forms. In the past 40 years, Yung involved extensively in multifarious fields of the arts, including theatre, cartoon, film and video, visual and installation art and he has been involved in over 100 theatre productions as director, scriptwriter, producer and/or stage designer. His theatre works were staged in cities across the world.

In 2014, Yung is the laureate of the 2014 Fukuoka Prize – Arts and Cultural Prize. In 2009, Yung was conferred the Merit Cross of the Order of Merit on Ribbon by the Federal Republic of Germany in recognition of his contribution to the arts and cultural exchange between Germany and Hong Kong. In 2008, with Tears of Barren Hill he was honoured the Music Theatre NOW Award by UNESCO's International Theatre Institute. In 2022, Yung received the Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts by Hong Kong Arts Development Council. "X-Xperimenting Exhibition: Danny Yung 50 Year Creations" was presented at the Hong Kong Heritage Museum in 2021; and the recently established "Zuni Experimental Theatre Arts Archive" is an open public archive that fully illustrates Zuni's experimental art over forty years - including performance photos and videos, manuscripts, critics, publications, etc.